top of page

A very serious and emotional post

So. For the longest time now, I've felt the need to write about... potato-peelers. (and some about shoehorns too)

The thing about potato peelers is that we all have them. We all use them. We all have fucking different types. It bugs me some days, but most days I think it's rather amazing and fantastic. I adore my own potato peeler that I have now. I got it as a gift from my sister Eva some years ago. It was bought in IKEA. My mom has the same one. It's no longer possible to find this potato peeler anywhere. It's a shame. It is a great one!

But lets see what a quick look on google told me.

These babies are my childhood sweethearts. These were the only ones I had seen until I grew up and became a potato-peeler maniac. They were quite annoying little things, that didn't peel very well and often cut a bit of skin off while using them.

This one is an electric peeler, you put the potatoes in with some water and turn it on. It will turn the potatoes around and around and eventually you'll get some peeled potatoes with the peel loose in the pot, so you have to rinse after using it. It's a rather clumsy one if you have a tiny kitchen (like me)

This one makes very little sense to me, but if you're used to peeling with a knife it would probably feel like one step up. It's a bit strange to hold on to and to actually peel something round with.

This one is very practical for people who want to peel a lot of potatoes and they need not be the new ones, with thin skin, but they get the work done with any kind of potato, the peel goes in the middle, so you just need to lift it up slightly, and take the peel out. Et Voiila - you've a peeled potato.

This looks like a real 70's peeler. The color and little hole that is of no use for anything else but being pretty. It's absolutely hopeless to peel with.

Check this one out! It's just horrendous! Wow. I can't imagine who'd buy this one. It's highly impractical as you can only peel one potato at a time, and it is only effective on the perfect shaped potatoes without "eyes". Funny looking though, and if you got the space and patience then maybe...naah, don't bother.

This is the one (or close to it, it doesn't have that ring to hang it on) I like the best. It's very practical and your hand can really grip it and you never slip and cut yourself. The "knife-part" is super-good. It also has the top of it, which is a really cool-shaped knife part, which you can use to cut out imperfections super easy.

And then at last. The people who still live in the dark-ages. The knife. I guess you can practice and get really fast but the chance of cutting yourself is huge, and it really doesn't cut the round corners very well.

And here is a shoe-horn that everybody in sweden have a copy of. (from IKEA) (I have the red one with the white lines and the white one with the red lines, and I live in a bedsit. It's a very important part of being swedish. :)

I think I shall leave it at that. Enjoy your potatoes!

bottom of page