top of page

A book or a blog?

I am trying not to get big-headed, but now several people have claimed that they'd read a book if I just write it. I wish I found it easy! :)

But then yesterday, I was telling my sister Maj, about how the book "The Martian" by Andy Weir, came about. (it was later a movie under the same name, but a huge disappointment to hardcore book fans such as myself.) Anyway, he got turned down by all publishers and agents. No one wanted this topic of writing anymore, no one wanted his story. So he decided to just do it anyway. And he did it in shape of a blog on his own website. He posted chapter by chapter, all for free and for all to read. Well, why not? Who are you writing for, and why are you writing? Is it a story that just need to come out, or something you've researched the hell out of (like Andy Weir did for The Martian)? Or do you just like to write a bit here and there and no worries if it is read or not?

For me, I like the blog-format. I feel comfortable, and I never think of anyone reading it. There is zero pressure in my own blog to perform or make something special of myself. I simply write to enjoy the writing. Sometimes it's to do with needing to put something down in the form of A - B - C etc. Sometimes I need to analyse an issue I have with something. Sometimes I write to make sure that I don't forget.

Basically, I've been having a blog since 2000 when I first discovered what we then called online journals. The word blog came about much later on. I wrote daily for years. And then Facebook came along. I don't know what happened exactly, more than that suddenly me and my fellow journal-post-writers started to hang out in that format instead. Some even went to tweet-land. For me, 140 characters messages is a big joke. I could never do that, I feel extremely provoked by anything that stops me from finishing my thought on my own.

So, I realized that I already had the solution of writing something more substantial here! I'll do an Andy Weir and get on with it. Here, in my blog.

The first chapter is coming along nicely in my head, and it's almost ready to be put down here, in my blog, watch this space! It's coming!

bottom of page